Lionel Messi’s Ballon d’Or Achievements

Lionel Messi’s Ballon d’Or achievements are beyond dispute, as the statistics reveal. When it comes to the individual trophy, Lionel Messi’s numbers are a display of authority, something he has demonstrated on every occasion.

This number of awards makes him the most decorated player in the history of France Football’s Ballon d’Or.

Each Ballon d’Or win showcases Lionel Messi’s numbers, with the most recent one secured on October 30 at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris, a gala brimming with sports celebrities.

Lionel Messi’s 2009 Ballon d’Or: The Numbers

We can say that this was one of the best years for the football star. In that year, he achieved a treble with Barcelona, winning La Liga, the Copa del Rey, and the Champions League simultaneously. However, his crowning achievement was winning his first Ballon d’Or.

He was competing with Cristiano Ronaldo and also his Barcelona FC teammates Andrés Iniesta and Xavi Hernández.

Lionel Messi’s 2010 Ballon d’Or

Once again, the Argentine had to compete with his teammates at the top of the list, this time with Xavi and Iniesta again.

While he was well-positioned internationally, the 4-0 defeat inflicted by Germany, which eliminated Argentina and Messi from the South Africa World Cup, was a morale blow.

The second Ballon d’Or for the footballer was a breath of fresh air after that collective setback for the Argentine national team.

Lionel Messi’s 2011 Ballon d’Or

In 2011, there was another setback for the Argentine national team as they lost to Uruguay in the Copa America. However, Messi competed with his eternal rival Cristiano Ronaldo and Xavi and secured the Ballon d’Or podium.

Lionel Messi’s 2012 Ballon d’Or

Messi garnered 41.6% of the votes, according to FIFA, which was organizing the award along with France Football at the time.

His own merits earned him his fourth Ballon d’Or, surpassing Cristiano Ronaldo and Andrés Iniesta, the Spanish player. It was an exceptional year, marked by 91 goals and a 2011-2012 season with 73 goals.

Lionel Messi’s 2015 Ballon d’Or

Three years passed before the football star triumphed over Cristiano Ronaldo, who won the award in 2013 and 2014. In 2015, Messi secured his fifth Ballon d’Or, competing with the Portuguese and Neymar Jr. on the podium.

During that period, with Barcelona, he won 5 out of the 6 titles he was eligible for, including the Champions League and the Club World Cup.

Lionel Messi’s 2019 Ballon d’Or

In the 64th edition of the awards, he competed with Virgil Van Dijk, who finished second, and Cristiano Ronaldo, who came in third. Sadio Mané was in fourth place. That year, he was also crowned La Liga champion and scored a total of 51 goals in the 2018-2019 season.

Lionel Messi’s 2021 Ballon d’Or

Messi won the Ballon d’Or for the first time while playing for a team other than FC Barcelona; that season, he joined Paris Saint-Germain. His major achievement that year was winning the Copa America with Argentina.

Cristiano Ronaldo, who had won five trophies, was left behind and ranked sixth that year.

Messi outperformed Robert Lewandowski, who won the Best Forward award in 2020 after the Ballon d’Or was not awarded. Lewandowski achieved three consecutive titles with Manchester City and scored 52 goals in his first season with the club.

In addition to the eight Ballon d’Or awards, Lionel Messi has received the Ballon d’Argent (second-place Ballon) five times (when he finished second in the voting): in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, and 2017, with Cristiano Ronaldo winning in all those years.

He also finished third and received the Ballon de Bronze in 2007 (when Kaká won, and CR7 was second).

Also read: The Mexican National Team’s Proposal Continues to Be Elusive Despite the Victory.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *