| |

How Many Gold Cups Has Mexico Won? A Comprehensive Look at Their Record

Three countries monopolize the throne in the biggest soccer competition in North America and the Caribbean, they have distributed all the tournaments, in this sense, how many Gold Cups has Mexico won?

Mexico is the biggest winner of the competition and is at the top of the throne, so far, dominating from the beginning the so-called Gold Cup.

But the United States has been rebounding and is no longer second in other tournaments, and will always fight against Mexico for supremacy.

But how many Gold Cups has Mexico won?

Mexico is one of the powers, if not the greatest, in the history of CONCACAF soccer.

At least the titles it has won in its all-time history prove it.

On several occasions, the Mexican National Team has won the Gold Cup, the most important in the region.

Let’s remember that the Confederation of North American and Caribbean Nations includes the countries of the Caribbean and Central America.


In this section, it is worth mentioning that Honduras, Costa Rica and Panama have been improving and have even reached the World Cup.

How many Gold Cups has Mexico won?

To be specific, the Mexican National Team has won the Gold Cup a total of 9 times.

In addition, it has won three titles in the previous stage of the competition, when it was played in a different format and was called the CONCACAF Championship (until 1989).

If you want to know more about how many Gold Cups Mexico has won, here we will tell you.

With the current Gold Cup system, Mexico’s consecrations have occurred in 1993, 1996, 1998, 2003, 2009, 2011, 2015, 2019 and 2023.

El Tri is the team that has won the tournament the most times, followed closely by the United States (7).

Titles and best performances of the Mexican National Team in the Gold Cup:

  • Titles: 9 (1993, 1996, 1998, 2003, 2003, 2009, 2011, 2015, 2019 and 2023) +3 in CONCACAF Championship (1965, 1971, 1977)
  • Runner-up finishes: 3 (1967, 2007 and 2021)
  • 3rd place: 5 (1973, 1981, 1991, 2013 and 2017)
  • 4th place: 1 (1969)

How many Gold Cups has Mexico won? Know all the finals.

Each final in the new format of the Gold Cup has left triumphs, joys and disappointments, these are Mexico’s triumphs in the Gold Cup.

–1993: Mexico vs. United States

The 1993 CONCACAF Gold Cup was the twelfth edition of the top national team tournament organized by the Confederation of North, Central American, Caribbean and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF), held between July 10 and 25, 1993.

It was the first edition to be jointly hosted by Mexico and the United States.

The final was held on July 25, 1993 at the Azteca Stadium, where the Mexican team defeated the U.S. team 4-0 to win its fourth continental trophy.

Ignacio Ambriz, Luis Roberto Alves and Guillermo Cantú stood out in that final; the goalkeeper was a certain Jorge Campos, a star of the national team.

–1996: Mexico vs. Brazil

In the final played at the Memorial Coliseum in Los Angeles, Mexico won its second CONCACAF Gold Cup by defeating the invited team, the all-powerful Brazil, the former world champions, 2-0.

Undoubtedly, the stars of that team were Luis García and Cuauhtémoc Blanco, who scored in the final.

This triumph put Mexico in the orbit of the best nations in the world, with a squad that was made up of complete players.

–1998: Mexico vs. United States: How many Gold Cups has Mexico won?

The 1998 CONCACAF Gold Cup final was played at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on February 15, 1998.

The teams that reached the deciding match were the home team United States and Mexico.

This was a very close final, where the United States was already demonstrating its power and progress, and in the end, a goal by Luis Hernandez sealed the Mexican victory.


–2003 Gold Cup Final: Mexico vs. Brazil

The final of the 2003 CONCACAF Gold Cup was played at the Azteca Stadium on July 27, 2003.

The teams that reached the deciding match were hosts Mexico and Brazil, who played in the tournament as a guest team.

This was Brazil’s second final in the CONCACAF competition.

In this seventh edition of the CONCACAF national team tournament, Brazil brought a U-23 team with stars such as Kaká, Robinho and Maicon.

Mexico’s Daniel Osorno was in charge of scoring the winning goal for Ricardo La Volpe’s team in minute 97.

–2009: Mexico vs. United States

Mexico was hungry for victory after being defeated in the final of the 2007 Gold Cup.

And so it was, with a stunning goal, scored by Gerardo Torrado 56′; Giovani Dos Santos 62′; Carlos Vela 67′; José Antonio Castro 79′; Guillermo Franco 90′; and Guillermo Franco 90′.

That team was a young U.S. team that held firm during the first few minutes until Mexico woke up.

Not least of all, all the goals were scored in the second half.

–Mexico wins again in 2011 against the U.S.A.

The United States lost to Mexico 2:4 with goals by the Americans Michael Bradley 8′; Landon Donovan 23′ and for Mexico, Pablo Barrera 29′, 50′; Andrés Guardado 36′ and Giovani Dos Santos 76′.

In this Gold Cup final, Mexico overcame a two-goal deficit to defeat the United States 4-2 in Pasadena, in the last Gold Cup final played by these teams.

Giovani Dos Santos sealed the historic comeback with a virtuoso play and a finish that will remain in the Gold Cup history books for decades to come.

–How many Gold Cups has Mexico won? 2015 Final vs. Jamaica

The 2015 CONCACAF Gold Cup final was the 13th CONCACAF Gold Cup final.

With Jamaica appearing on stage in this final, Mexico’s national team won its 10th continental title after defeating the Jamaicans 3-1.

The goals were scored by a brilliant Andrés Guardado at minute 31′, Jesús Corona at minute 47′ and Oribe Peralta at minute 61′, while Darren Mattocks scored at minute 80′.

–2019: Mexico vs.United States

In 2019 Mexico continues in its classic duel against the United States, and once again, Mexico got the win.

Mexico won, took the CONCACAF Classic by a resounding score.

The goals were scored by ‘Chicharito’, ‘Guti’ and ‘El Brujo’. Jonathan Orozco also saved a penalty kick from Sargent.

–2023: Mexico vs. Panama

Panama has been consolidating its presence in the confederation, and that was reaffirmed by reaching the 2023 final.

But Mexico won, a long-suffering, hard-fought duel, but a champion in the end.

Mexico beat Panama 1-0 with a goal by Santiago Giménez in the 88th minute. It was the first final played at the modern SoFi in Los Angeles, the state that will host the World Cup in 2026.

With that goal, Santiago Jiménez sealed his status as the most valuable player, a key player in the new championship.

Each of these triumphs for the Mexicans in the Gold Cups have meant a challenge for Mexico, as it forces them to maintain a constant replacement to be among the elite.

The United States and Canada have improved their recruiting system, with players with better conditions and talent.

For this reason, the symbolism of the Mexican national teams goes beyond sports, as they set an example and embody the duel between the ethnic differences between the United States and Mexico.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *