The teams that have won the most Copa América

The teams that have won the most Copa América will be looking to add to their leadership in the region.

Argentina and Uruguay are the teams that have won the most Copa América; a competition organized by Conmebol.

Ecuador and Venezuela are the only teams that have not won a Copa América throughout history.

The Copa America 2024 in the United States will once again bring together the best teams of the continent.

It is a prelude to the 2026 World Cup in North America.

Argentina and Uruguay are the top winners of the oldest soccer tournament in the world.

The 15 Copa América crowns held by each of them speak of the soccer power of the Celeste and the Albiceleste.

In the continental competition, they played 35 matches, with 15 wins for Argentina, 13 for Uruguay and 4 draws.


In that sense, the overall record shows that they have played 195 matches against each other, with 91 wins for Argentina, 58 for Uruguay and 46 matches ended in a draw.

A rivalry: The teams that have won the most Copa América

The Río de la Plata unites them rather than separates them. As much as mate, tango and soccer. The language, customs and the beautiful game have tied them together forever.

Only 90 minutes in which they face each other, the rivalry separates them, exacerbates them and to the sound of two gladiators they battle to then lay down their weapons and walk together.

Uruguay and Argentina are the two teams that have won the Copa America the most. Their names are the very foundation stone of football, they have continued to make history and today they are producing players with whom they water stadiums all over the world.

Lionel Messi is the star, with his talent in the Copa America and his resplendent consecration in Brazil 2021.

The list of Copa América champions

  • Argentina: 15
  • Uruguay: 15
  • Brazil: 9
  • Paraguay: 2
  • Chile: 2
  • Peru: 2
  • Colombia: 1
  • Bolivia: 1

La Celeste was crowned in the following editions: 1916, 1917, 1920, 1923, 1923, 1924, 1926, 1935, 1942, 1956, 1959-II, 1967, 1983, 1987, 1995 and 2011. It is also worth mentioning that it was runner-up on six occasions.

Uruguay has managed to stand out very specially with another element: it won the 7 Copa América that were played in its country.

Another brilliant asterisk that Uruguay is proud of is the three two-time championships it has won: 1916-1917, 1923-1924 and 1983-1987.

Argentina has also won the Olympic Cup on 15 other occasions. The Argentine titles came in 1921, 1925, 1927, 1929, 1937, 1941, 1945, 1946, 1947, 1955, 1957, 1959, 1991, 1993 and 2021.

The Albiceleste won six of the nine tournaments held in their country.

Argentina is the only national team to have won three consecutive titles: 1945, 1946, 1947.

The reigning world champion is also the team that has played in the most Copa América finals: 29.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *